Meet the people in Arctic Studies:

Our Faculty


Matthew P. Ayres

Professor of Biological Sciences; Associate Director, Institute of Arctic Studies

Lauren E. Culler

Research Assistant Professor; Science Outreach Coordinator

Ross A. Virginia

Director, Institute of Arctic Studies; Myers Family Professor of Environmental Science

Our Affiliated Faculty

Mary Albert

Professor of Engineering; Executive Director, Ice Drilling Program Office

Ian Baker

Sherman Fairchild Professor of Engineering; Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs

Melody Brown Burkins

Associate Director, John Sloan Dickey Center for International Understanding ; Adjunct Professor of Environmental Studies (ENVS)

Kathryn L. Cottingham

Dartmouth Professor in the Arts & Sciences; Professor, Department of Biological Sciences
N. Bruce Duthu

N. Bruce Duthu

Samson Occom Professor of Native American Studies; The Frank J. Guarini Associate Dean of the Faculty for International Studies & Interdisciplinary Programs
Xiahong Feng

Xiahong Feng

Professor of Earth Sciences; Frederick Hall Professor of Mineralogy and Geology
Mary Flanagan

Mary Flanagan

Professor of Film and Media Studies; Sherman Fairchild Distinguished Professor in Digital Humanities

Andrew J. Friedland

Professor of Environmental Studies; Adjunct Professor of Biological Sciences and Earth Sciences

Brenda Garand

Professor of Studio Art
Robert L. Hawley

Robert L. Hawley

Associate Professor of Earth Sciences
Rebecca E Irwin

Rebecca E. Irwin

Adjunct Associate Professor of Biological Sciences; Biology, Ecology, and Evolution Graduate Program
Anne R. Kapuscinski

Anne R. Kapuscinski

Professor of Environmental Studies; Sherman Fairchild Distinguished Professor in Sustainability Science
Meredith A. Kelly

Meredith A. Kelly

Associate Professor of Earth Science

Mark Alan McPeek

David T. McLaughlin Distinguished Professor of Biological Sciences; Professor, Ecology, Evolution, Ecosystems and Society Graduate Program
Ilona Metiainen

Ilona Mettiäinen

Researcher, Arctic Centre, University of Lapland, Finland

Erich Osterberg

Associate Professor of Earth Sciences

Laura Ray

Professor of Engineering

Nicholas James Reo

Associate Professor; Associate Professor of Environmental Studies and Native American Studies

Christina Seely

Assistant Professor of Studio Art

Our Fellows

Audrey Giles

Audrey Giles

2018-19 Fulbright Canada Research Chair in Arctic Studies; Professor, School of Human Kinetics, University of Ottawa
Lenore Grenoble

Lenore Grenoble

Dickey Center Senior Arctic Fellow; Chair, Department of Linguistics and Humanities Collegiate Division, University of Chicago
Jeff Kerby

Jeffrey Kerby

Dickey Center Visiting Arctic Fellow; Neukom '16 Post-doctoral Fellow

Kenneth Yalowitz

Dickey Center Senior Arctic Fellow; Global Fellow, Kennan Institute, Wilson Center
The John Sloan Dickey Center